Careers Advantage - Pre-placement professional development

The professional development sessions are conducted throughout your first and second year of study. Each session is tailored to prepare, motivate and equip you with career-ready skills, before your placement begins. Below are the professional development sessions you will be attending.

2018 professional development dates

Example of the types of sessions that will be ran.

First year

Students are required to attend one of the session on each topic at their relevant campus. These are compulsory sessions for students that want to be considered for placements in the Industry Placement Program.

SessionBallaratBerwickGippsland

Session 1 – Understanding your personality

Mon Aug 13, 11.30am-12.30pm

T147

Tue Aug 14 9.30am-10.30am

T147

Tue Aug 14 10.30am-11.30am

902 G63

Wed Aug 15, 10.30-11.30am

1E214

Thu Aug 16, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 2 – Understanding your skills

Mon Aug 20, 11.30am-12.30pm

T147

Tue Aug 21, 9.30am-10.30am

T147

Tue Aug 21, 10.30am-11.30am

902 G63

Wed Aug 22, 10.30-11.30am

1E214

Thu Aug 23, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 3 – Setting goals

Mon Aug 27, 11.30am-12.30pm

T147

Tue Aug 28, 9.30am-10.30am

T147

Tue Aug 28, 10.30am-11.30am

902 G96

Wed Aug 29, 10.30-11.30am

1E214

Thu Aug 30, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 4 – Industry exploration

Mon Sep 3, 11.30am-12.30pm, T147

Tue Sep 4, 9.30am-10.30am

T147

Tue Sep 4, 10.30am-11.30am

902 G96

Wed Sep 5, 10.30-11.30am

1E214

Thu Sep 6, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 5 – Organisational expectations

Mon Sep 10, 11.30am-12.30pm, T147

Tue Sep 11, 9.30am-10.30am, T147

Tue Sep 11, 10.30am-11.30am,

902 G96

Wed Sep 12,

10.30-11.30am, 1E214

Thu Sep 13, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 6 – Workplace conditions

Mon Sep 17, 11.30am-12.30pm, T147

Tue Sep 18, 9.30am-10.30am, T147

Tue Sep 18, 10.30am-11.30am,

902 G96

Wed Sep 19,

10.30-11.30am, 1E214

Thu Sep 20, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 7 – Job searching techniques

Mon Oct 8, 11.30am-12.30pm

T147

Tue Oct 9, 9.30am-10.30am

T147

Tue Oct 9, 10.30am-11.30am

902 G96

Wed Oct 10, 10.30-11.30am

1E214

Thu Oct 11, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 8 – Creating your own personal brand

Mon Oct 15, 11.30am-12.30pm

T147

Tue Oct 16, 9.30am-10.30am

T147

Tue Oct 16, 10.30am-11.30am

902 G96

Wed Oct 17, 10.30-11.30am

1E214

Thu Oct 18, 2.30-3.30pm

1E214

Session 9 – Networking event

Thu Nov 29, 9.30-2.30pm,

Room TBA

Wed Nov 28, 9.30-2.30pm, Room TBA

Tue Nov 27, 9.30-2.30pm, 5N158

Second year

Students are required to attend one of the session on each topic at their relevant campus.These are compulsory sessions for students that want to be considered for placements in the Industry Placement Program.

SessionBallaratBerwickGippsland

Session 10 - Professionalism

Wed Aug 15, 8.30am-9.30am, T146

 

Wed Aug 15, 2.30-3.30pm

4N268

Session 11 – Resume writing and content

Wed Aug 22, 8.30am-9.30am, T146

 

Wed Aug 22, 2.30-3.30pm

4N268

Session 12 – Responding to key selection criteria

Wed Aug 29, 8.30am-9.30am, T146

 

Wed Aug 29, 2.30-3.30pm

4N268

Session 13 – How to write an effective covering letters

Wed Sep 5, 8.30am-9.30am, T146

 

Wed Sep 5, 2.30-3.30pm

4N268

Session 14 – Preparing for interviews

Wed Sep 12, 8.30am-9.30am, T124

 

Wed Sep 12,

2.30-3.30pm, 5N158

Session 15 – Group interviews and assessment centres

Wed Sep 19, 8.30am-9.30am, T124

 

Wed Sep 19,

2.30-3.30pm, 5N158

Session 16 – Coping with nerves

Wed Oct 10, 8.30am-9.30am, T124

 

Wed Oct 10, 2.30-3.30pm

5N158

Session 17 – Mock interviews

Wed Oct 17,

12pm -4pm

Y135 & Y135

 

Wed Oct 17, 2.30-3.30pm

5N158

Session 18 – Delivering quality presentations

Wed Oct 24, 8.30am-9.30am, T124

 

Wed Oct 24, 2.30-3.30pm

5N158