Cut-off dates

Due to the need to undergo pre-visa screening and apply for a student visa, international students must stick to strict cut-off dates. We recommend you apply as early as possible to allow enough time for processing.

Please note: many students will package an English and Academic Preparation (EAP) program with their main program. If you will be studying an EAP program, cut-off dates will be based on the orientation date of your EAP program, not the standard semester dates.

Please also note that some popular programs may have early cut-off dates due to program availability. Further information will be provided separately.

Standard cut-off dates for Semester 1, 2022

Offshore applicants and onshore applicants without a valid student visa

2022 important dates
Semester 1 2022
Ballarat Berwick Gippsland
Federation campus locations
Brisbane Federation campus and onshore partner locations
Application submission
8 weeks before program commencement date.
All required application documents, must be provided by:
Friday, 31 December 2021 Friday, 21 January 2022
GTE assessment*
7 weeks before program commencement date. All required Pre-visa assessment documents, should be submitted by:
Friday, 7 January 2022 Friday, 28 January 2022
Acceptance/payment and CoE issued for high risk markets*
6 weeks prior to program commencement date. The student must receive payment confirmation from Federation University and meet all conditions on the offer letter by:

*A maximum 1 week extension can be granted for applicants on a case by case basis.
Friday, 14 January 2022 Friday, 4 February 2022

Onshore applicants with a valid student visa

2022 important dates
Semester 1 2022
Ballarat Berwick Gippsland
Federation campus locations
Brisbane Federation campus and onshore partner locations
Application submission
3 weeks before program commencement date.
All required application documents, must be provided by:
Friday, 4 February 2022 Friday, 25 February 2022
GTE assessment
2 weeks before program commencement date. All required Pre-visa assessment documents, should be submitted by:
Friday, 11 February 2022 Friday, 4 March 2022
Acceptance/payment and CoE issued*
1 week before program commencement date.
The student must receive payment confirmation from Federation University and meet all conditions on the offer letter by:

*A maximum 1 week extension can be granted for onshore applicants, on a case by case basis.
Friday, 18 February 2022 Friday, 11 March 2022

Other key dates

2022 Semester 1 other key dates

Late enrolment - for arrival into Australia (automatically approved to any request till end of week 1)

Friday, 4 March 2022 Friday, 25 March 2022
Orientation week Monday, 21 February 2022 Monday, 14 March 2022

Semester program commencement

Monday, 28 February 2022 Monday, 21 March 2022
Census date Friday, 31 March 2022 Friday, 15 April 2022

Standard cut-off dates for Semester 2, 2022

Offshore applicants and onshore applicants without a valid student visa with no COVID-19 restrictions - borders open

2022 important dates
Semester 2 2022
Ballarat Berwick Gippsland
Federation campus locations
Brisbane Federation campus and onshore partner locations
Application submission
8 weeks before program commencement date.
All required application documents, must be provided by:
Friday, 27 May 2022 Friday, 20 May 2022
GTE assessment*
7 weeks before program commencement date. All required Pre-visa assessment documents, should be submitted by:
Friday, 3 June 2022 Friday, 27 May 2022
Acceptance/payment and CoE issued for high risk markets*
6 week prior to program commencement date. The student must receive payment confirmation from Federation University and meet all conditions on the offer letter by:

*A maximum 1 week extension can be granted for applicants on a case by case basis.
Friday, 10 June 2022 Friday,3 June 2022

Onshore applicants with a valid student visa

2022 important dates
Semester 2 2022
Ballarat Berwick Gippsland
Federation campus locations
Brisbane Federation campus and onshore partner locations
Application submission
3 weeks before program commencement date.
All required application documents, must be provided by:
Friday, 1 July 2022 Friday, 24 June 2022
GTE assessment
2 weeks before program commencement date. All required Pre-visa assessment documents, should be submitted by:
Friday, 8 July 2022 Friday, 1 July 2022
Acceptance/payment and CoE issued*
1 week before program commencement date.
The student must receive payment confirmation from Federation University and meet all conditions on the offer letter by:

*A maximum 1 week extension can be granted for onshore applicants, on a case by case basis.
Friday, 15 July 2022 Friday, 18 July 2022

Other key dates

2022 Semester 2 other key dates

Late enrolment - for arrival into Australia (automatically approved to any request till end of week 1)

Friday, 29 July 2022 Friday, 22 July 2022
Orientation week Monday, 18 July 2022 Monday, 11 July 2022

Semester program commencement

Monday, 25 July 2022 Monday, 18 July 2022
Census date Friday, 15 August 2022 Friday, 12 August 2022

Missed the cut-off date?

If you have received an offer letter, but have missed the cut-off date, you may be able to defer your offer. To discuss deferring your offer to a later intake, please contact us.