News Archive

Archived HITC News

August 2021

Associate Professor Danny Hills, Workforce Development Research Stream Director in the Health Innovation and Transformation Centre at Federation University, is part of a research team awarded $1.05 million in NHMRC funding over four years to improve palliative care in residential aged care using telehealth. The IMPART project aims to provide training and palliative-geriatric support to aged care staff and general practitioners, enabling timely end-of-life discussions, improved documentation of care preferences, reduced avoidable hospitalisation and improvements to residents’ quality of care at the end of life. Project team members are from the key participating institutions (National Ageing Research Institute, Melbourne Health, Northern Health and Deakin University), as well Austin Health, Federation University, Monash University, University of Melbourne, University of Newcastle and University of Queensland.

Dr Angela Rintoul, Senior Research Fellow in the Health Innovation and Transformation Centre at Federation University was selected through a competitive process to take part in the Virtual Global Leadership Practices Program, sponsored by the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust and Yellow Edge.

Climate change, the bush fire emergency, the COVID-19 pandemic with its subsequent economic and social challenges, calls for social reform to address systemic indigenous inequality, have demonstrated we are living in very turbulent times. The program aimed to provide fresh eyes and new methods to help leaders develop the necessary capacity to deal with complexity and new ambitions for a sustainable planet, inclusive and fairer societies, humane, meaningful work, and respect for all peoples.

Participants interacted with thinkers and fellow leaders from Australia and 5 partner countries to empower them to be transformative in their leadership work as the global and local context continually transforms.

The program visited 5 countries in 5 days from 20-25 September 2021. These included:

  • Welingkar Institute of Management, (India)
  • Georgetown University (USA)
  • University of Cambridge (UK)
  • National University of Singapore (Singapore)
  • Knowledge Investment Programs, Tokyo, (Japan)