About Academic Board

The Academic Board is the principal academic body of the University. The purpose of Academic Board is twofold:

  • academic oversight of programs and courses of study in Higher Education and Vocational Education and Training in the University; and
  • to provide advice to Council on the conduct and content of those programs and courses.

In particular, the Academic Board is responsible for:

  • creating awareness of and providing leadership in relation to contemporary educational issues;
  • establishing a quality assurance framework for learning, teaching and research;
  • recommending and reporting to the Vice-Chancellor on matters relating to learning, teaching and research;
  • regularly reviewing and evaluating the performance of the Academic Board and reporting outcomes to Council; and lastly it
  • provides Council with any requested information.

Academic Board comprises 34 member positions of which 22 are ex officio positions and 12 elected positions from academic,  professional/general and teaching staff and students of the University.

Terms of reference

Induction handbook and presentation

Membership 2020

Position on Academic BoardName
Chair Associate Professor Elisa Zentveld
(term ends 31/12/20)
Deputy Chair Associate Professor Mark Myers
(term ends 31/12/21)
Deputy Chair Associate Professor Jenene Burke
(term ends 31/12/20)
Ex officio members:
Vice-Chancellor Professor Helen Bartlett
DVC (Academic) Professor Andy Smith
DVC (Research and Innovation) Professor Chris Hutchison
DVC (Student Support and Services) -
Pro Vice-Chancellor (International) Associate Professor Jason Giri  (Acting PVCI)
Director, Library and Learning Spaces Ms Sue Owen
Manager, Aboriginal Education Centre  Ms Katrina Beer (Acting Manager, AEC)
University Registrar Ms Claire Shaw
Chairs of Academic Board Standing Committees
Chair, Academic Board Executive Committee Associate Professor Elisa Zentveld
(term ends 31/12/2020)
Chair, Appeals Committee

Associate Professor Jeremy Smith
(term ends 31/12/2020)

Chair, Higher Education Curriculum Committee Associate Professor Jenene Burke
(term ends 31/12/20)
Chair, International Education Committee Professor Talal Yusaf
Chair, Learning and Teaching Committee Associate Professor Nina Fotinatos
(term ends 31/12/2020)
Chair, Research Higher Degrees Committee Professor Fadi Charchar
(terms ends 31/12/20)
Chair, Research Committee  Professor Chris Hutchison
(term ends 31/12/2020)
Chair, VET Curriculum and Quality Committee Professor Andy Smith
Deans and Executive Director of Schools
School of Arts Professor Andrew Hope     
School of Education Professor Claire McLachlan
School of Science, Psychology and Sport Professor Dara Twomey
School of Health Professor Wendy Cross
School of Engineering. IT and Physical Sciences Professor Syed Islam
Federation Business School Professor Christina Lee
Federation TAFE Associate Professor Barry Wright
Elected members:
Student Senate representative Mr Geeta Tirumala Sai Naralasetty
(term ends 31/10/20)      
Two general / professional staff Mr Andrew Henwood
(term ends 31/12/21)  
Associate Professor Geoffrey Lord
(term ends 31/12/20)
Two Federation TAFE teachers Vacant
(term ends 31/12/20) 

Ms Lauren Bartolo
(term ends  31/12/20)

Two HE academic staff     Dr Marg Camilleri
(term ends 31/12/20)
  Dr Greg You
(term ends 31/12/21)
Two HE academic staff - professoriate Associate Professor Annette Foley
(term ends 31/12/20)
  Professor Erica Smith
(term ends 31/12/21)


Academic Secretariat, Corporate Governance
Phone: +61 3 5327 6456
Email: academic.secretariat@federation.edu.au