OUR HISTORY

1913

Ballarat Junior

of SMB Council

BOYS 1913-1976 GIRLS 1951-1962

Technical School

Opened under control

 The School of Mines Ballarat (SMB)

1870

1887 - 1894 Affiliated with University of Melbourne

Ballarat Base Hospital School of Nursing

1888

1926-1931, 1946-1973 Ballarat Teachers' College

1973-1975 State College of Victoria *Ballarat*

1967-1976

of Advanced

Education

Ballarat Institute

1967 SMB gives it's three divisions distinguishing internal names

1967-1976

School

Ballarat Technical

1967-1976 Ballarat School of Industries (BSI)

1976-1998 The School of Mines and Industries, Ballarat (SMB) TAFE formed

 1994
MoU signed between SMB and Ararat Technical School

1976 Merger

1976 Ballarat College of Advanced Education

1987 Transfer of nursing to Higher Education sector

1990

Ballarat University College Affiliated with the University of Melbourne

1994 University of Ballarat (UB) Created under sponsorship of the University of Melbourne for five years

<mark>1928</mark> Yallourn Technical School

1958 Yallourn Technical College

1968 Gippsland Institute of Advanced Education

Monash University College

1990

1993

Gippsland

Gippsland

Monash University

1969 Ararat Technical School

1882 Stawell School of Design

1889 Stawell School of Mines

1916 Stawell Junior Technical School

1926 Stawell Technical School

1984 Wimmera Institute of TAFE formed by the merger of Horsham and Stawell

1958 Horsham Technical School

1922 Technical Division closed down

1891 Horsham Working Men's College **1998** *TAFE component added to make University of Ballarat dual-sector*

* *

2014 FEDERATION UNIVERSITY AUSTRALIA

2017 Federation University Berwick 2018 Federation University Brisbane