Media releases

University hosts Science and Technology Student Awards

Posted: Thursday 29 June 2017

Federation University Australia’s Faculty of Science and Technology is hosting its annual Student Awards Ceremonies in Gippsland and Ballarat this week.

The Gippsland Ceremony was held on Tuesday, 27 June and the Mt Helen Ceremony will be held on Friday, 30 June.

Students from the School of Engineering and Information Technology, and the School of Applied and Biomedical Science have been eligible for the awards.

A total of 57 awards will be presented to 84 recipients from the Mt Helen and Gippsland Campuses.

Special awards presented will include the Pitman Benjamin Prize for Engineering Sustainability, the AE Stohr Medal Award, and the Clarence Claude Fisher Award.

Award sponsors include Telstra, IBM Australia, AGL Loy Yang, MMG Maintenance, Hydro Australia, AusIMM, Australian Steel Institute, ASIC and SAGE Technology. 

Professor Mark Sandeman, Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and Technology, congratulates all the award recipients.

“The University has a long history of producing extremely talented and successful Science and Technology students,” Professor Sandeman said.

“I wish all of the award winners, and our students in general, all the best for their future careers in their chosen field of endeavour.”  

The Mt Helen ceremony will be held from 10.00 am, Friday, 30 June, at the Y016 Lecture Theatre in the Science and Technology Building, Mt Helen Campus.

Contact Matthew Freeman
Senior Advisor, Media and Government Relations
03 5327 9510; 0408 519 674