SMB is established


Tertiary education at Ballarat began with the establishment of the School of Mines and Industries in 1870, making it Australia's third oldest tertiary institution. The School of Mines had two divisions - a tertiary division and a technical division

Ballarat School of Mines from Lydiard Street. The former Wesley Church is on the left of the photo. Beside it is the New Classrooms (now Administration Building), and the former Ballarat Circuit Court which was demolished in 1912 and replaced the Ballarat Technical Art School building.

Federation University Australia Historical Collection