Sanctions and compliance

Applicants from the following countries should be aware that United Nations Security Council (UNSC) and/or Australian autonomous sanctions may apply to any research you may undertake in Australia.

  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • DPRK (North Korea)
  • Zimbabwe
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Somalia
  • Myanmar
  • Libya
  • Liberia
  • Lebanon
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Guinea – Bissan
  • Former Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
  • Fiji, and
  • Eritrea

It is important that you discuss sanctions that may be applicable to your proposed research with us. There may be a delay in your capacity to commence a research degree at Federation University Australia where approval for your research project needs to be sought.

Information about the UNSC and Australian sanctions is available at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.