Awards for Teaching Excellence


The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching. The AAUT recognise quality teaching practice and outstanding contributions to student learning, demonstrating excellence in higher education learning and teaching. Recipients, with the support of their institutions, further contribute to systemic change in learning and teaching through the ongoing sharing and dissemination of knowledge.

Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards)

Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards) celebrate a group of the nation’s most outstanding university teachers in their fields. Teaching Awards give recognition to teachers (individuals and teams) renowned for the excellence of their teaching, and who have made a broad and deep contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching in higher education. Up to 16 Teaching Awards across eight categories, valued at $25,000 each, are awarded to teachers who have demonstrated sustained commitment to improving student learning outcomes in higher education.

Timeline and application forms for 2017 AAUT Teaching Awards Nomination

(Please note: signatures are not required for sections J and K on the nomination form; approval from the Vice-Chancellor and the institutional contact officer will be sort in the final stages of the submission process by the CLIPP office) 


More information

For more information and questions on citations, please contact CLIPP: