School of Science, Engineering and Information Technology

Information technology, AI, health Informatics and cyber security

Information technology

Project titles Supervisor contact
Emerging technologies in spatiotemporal sequence analysis Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Smart Textiles for Quality of Life and Cognitive Assessment Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Simulation for Bushfire Safety Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Scoring system generation and validation Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Underground Sensor Communication for Smart Farming Associate Professor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Improving network risk monitoring through IoT-based system for reducing capacity loss and improving safety in rail operation Dr Gopi Chattopadhyay -
email: g.chattopadhyay@federation.edu.au
Making a system smart through Internet of Things Dr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au

Health informatics

Project titles Supervisor contact
Smartphone Usage Index (SPUI): Non-invasive smartphone use monitoring to assess cognitive impairment Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Non-invasive smartphone use monitoring to assess cognitive impairment  Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
The Visualisation of Health Information for Clinical Reasoning Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Secure Remote Patient Monitoring in the Home Dr Venki Balasubramanian -
email: v.balasubramanian@federation.edu.au
Interactive Smart Activity Aprons for Dementia Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Health Check Up Screening for Chronic Conditions A/Prof Stranieri - email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au

Cyber security

Project titles Supervisor contact
Symbolic Execution for Rapid Threat Analysis Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Privacy-Preserving Distributed Edge Computing with Guardians Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Trusted Learning Systems for Cyber-Security Applications Associate Professor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Evaluating trustworthiness of an Internet of Things agent Dr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
Multiparty access control in edge computing Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
Privacy-preserving distributed edge computing   Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
Trustworthy machine learning  Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
Security hardening of mixed reality Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
Depicting human vulnerabilities towards cyber threats via trust analytics 
Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
Smart grid security Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
Security of intelligent transportation systems Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au
3D content security Dr Alireza Jolfaei - email: a.jolfaei@federation.edu.au

Artificial intelligence and image processing

Project titles Supervisor contact
Multi-view Video Coding with Reflectance Modelling
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Ultra-High Efficiency Video Coding with Hierarchical Partitioning and Context Modelling
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Image/video annotation and retrieval by taking advantages of both deep learning and traditional approaches
Professor Guojun Lu -
email: guojun.lu@federation.edu.au
An effective approach to image/video compression and analytics
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Real-time identification of suspicious objects/persons in surveillance images and video
Associate Professor Shyh Wei Teng - 
email: shyh.wei.teng@federation.edu.au
Large scale image classification based on object proposal
Dr Dengsheng Zhang -
email: dengsheng.zhang@federation.edu.au