School of Science, Engineering and Information Technology

Information technology, AI, health Informatics and cyber security

Information technology

Project titles Supervisor contact
Emerging technologies in spatiotemporal sequence analysis Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Smart textiles for quality of life and cognitive assessment Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Simulation for bushfire safety Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Learning and using models of causality for human-aligned reinforcement learning Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Q(σ) learning in multi-policy multi-objective reinforcement learning Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Trust-aware reinforcement learning Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Deep Learning for Internet of Things Devices Associate Professor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Improving network risk monitoring through IoT-based system for reducing capacity loss and improving safety in rail operation Dr Gopi Chattopadhyay -
email: g.chattopadhyay@federation.edu.au
Data dependent similarity-based machine learning approach to criminal intelligence problems Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Kernel-based approach to anomaly detection Professor Kai Ming Ting - email: Kaiming.ting@federation.edu.au

Application of Block Chain Technologies in Energy Sector

Associate Professor Madhu Chetty - email: Madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au

Making a system smart through Internet of Things Dr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
Digital Business Transformation through a Post-modern ERP StrategyDr Taiwo Oseni – email: t.oseni@federation.edu.au
Blockchain Technology (BCT) integration with digital enterprise systems in energy sectorDr Mehmood Chadhar – m.chadhar@federation.edu.au
Robotic Business Process Automation: A best practice modelMs Sally Firmin – s.firmin@federation.edu.au

Health informatics

Project titles Supervisor contact
Smartphone usage index (SPUI): non-invasive smartphone use monitoring to assess cognitive impairment Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Non-invasive smartphone use monitoring to assess cognitive impairment  Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
The visualisation of health information for clinical reasoning Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Secure remote patient monitoring in the home Dr Venki Balasubramanian -
email: v.balasubramanian@federation.edu.au

Scoring system generation and validation

Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Using deep learning methods to predict anomalies for healthcare applications

Dr Jiangang Ma - email: j.ma@federation.edu.au

Interactive smart activity aprons for dementia Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Health check up screening for chronic conditions Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Evolutionary optimisation for protein structure prediction using low resolution protein modelsAssociate Professor Madhu Chetty - email: madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au

Cyber security

Project titles Supervisor contact
Symbolic execution for rapid threat analysis Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Privacy-preserving distributed edge computing with guardians Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Trusted learning systems for cyber-security applications Associate Professor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
An adaptive framework for Blockchain Technology’s (BCT) security and privacy strategiesDr Mehmood Chadhar – m.chadhar@federation.edu.au
Evaluating trustworthiness of an internet of things agent Dr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
An assessment of the effectiveness of cybersecurity management systems and guidelines Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au

Artificial intelligence and image processing

Project titles Supervisor contact
Multi-view video coding with reflectance modelling
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Ultra-high efficiency video coding with hierarchical partitioning and context modelling
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Image/video annotation and retrieval by taking advantages of both deep learning and traditional approaches
Professor Guojun Lu -
email: guojun.lu@federation.edu.au
An effective approach to image/video compression and analytics
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Real-time identification of suspicious objects/persons in surveillance images and video
Associate Professor Shyh Wei Teng - 
email: shyh.wei.teng@federation.edu.au
Large scale image classification based on object proposal
Dr Dengsheng Zhang -
email: dengsheng.zhang@federation.edu.au

Real-time identifying human activities by using Internet of things

Professor Guojun Lu -
email: guojun.lu@federation.edu.au

Similarity search on big data in cloud

Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au