School of Science, Engineering and Information Technology

Virtual, Digital and Computational Environments

Project titles Supervisor contact
Emerging technologies in spatiotemporal sequence analysis Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Smart textiles for quality of life and cognitive assessment Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Simulation for bushfire safety Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Learning and using models of causality for human-aligned reinforcement learning Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Q(σ) learning in multi-policy multi-objective reinforcement learning Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Trust-aware reinforcement learning Associate Professor Peter Vamplew -
email: p.vamplew@federation.edu.au
Deep Learning for Internet of Things DevicesProfessor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Improving network risk monitoring through IoT-based system for reducing capacity loss and improving safety in rail operation Dr Gopi Chattopadhyay -
email: g.chattopadhyay@federation.edu.au
Data dependent similarity-based machine learning approach to criminal intelligence problems Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Kernel-based approach to anomaly detection Professor Kai Ming Ting - email: Kaiming.ting@federation.edu.au
Making a system smart through Internet of Things Dr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
Digital Business Transformation through a Post-modern ERP StrategyDr Taiwo Oseni – email: t.oseni@federation.edu.au
Blockchain Technology (BCT) integration with digital enterprise systems in energy sectorDr Mehmood Chadhar – m.chadhar@federation.edu.au
Robotic Business Process Automation: A best practice modelMs Sally Firmin – s.firmin@federation.edu.au
Smartphone usage index (SPUI): non-invasive smartphone use monitoring to assess cognitive impairment Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Non-invasive smartphone use monitoring to assess cognitive impairment  Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
The visualisation of health information for clinical reasoning Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Secure remote patient monitoring in the home Dr Venki Balasubramanian -
email: v.balasubramanian@federation.edu.au

Scoring system generation and validation

Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Using deep learning methods to predict anomalies for healthcare applications

Dr Jiangang Ma - email: j.ma@federation.edu.au

Interactive smart activity aprons for dementia Dr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Health check up screening for chronic conditions Associate Professor Andrew Stranieri -
email: a.stranieri@federation.edu.au
Evolutionary optimisation for protein structure prediction using low resolution protein modelsAssociate Professor Madhu Chetty - email: madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au
Symbolic execution for rapid threat analysis Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Privacy-preserving distributed edge computing with guardians Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
An adaptive framework for Blockchain Technology’s (BCT) security and privacy strategiesDr Mehmood Chadhar – m.chadhar@federation.edu.au
An assessment of the effectiveness of cybersecurity management systems and guidelines Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Ultra-high efficiency video coding with hierarchical partitioning and context modelling
Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Image/video annotation and retrieval by taking advantages of both deep learning and traditional approaches
Professor Guojun Lu -
email: guojun.lu@federation.edu.au
Real-time identification of suspicious objects/persons in surveillance images and video
Associate Professor Shyh Wei Teng - 
email: shyh.wei.teng@federation.edu.au
Large scale image classification based on object proposal
Dr Dengsheng Zhang -
email: dengsheng.zhang@federation.edu.au

Real-time identifying human activities by using Internet of things

Professor Guojun Lu -
email: guojun.lu@federation.edu.au

Similarity search on big data in cloud

Professor Manzur Murshed -
email: manzur.murshed@federation.edu.au
Generalized Separation of Collections of Sets Associate Professor Alex Kruger -
email: a.kruger@federation.edu.au 
Nonlinear Error Bounds Associate Professor Alex Kruger -
email: a.kruger@federation.edu.au
Modeling, Method, and Unified Theory for Multi-Scale Nonconvex Systems Professor David Yang Gao -
email: d.gao@federation.edu.au
Deterministic Algorithms for Large-Scale Computation and Multi-Level Optimization Professor David Yang Gao -
email: d.gao@federation.edu.au
Decision Making in Logistics and Supply Chain Management Professor David Yang Gao -
email: d.gao@federation.edu.au
Efficient optimisation methods for robust reconstruction of gene regulatory networks Associate Professor Madhusudan Chetty -
email: madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au
Efficient methods for large scale nonsmooth DC optimisation and applicationsAssociate Professor Adil Baghirov -
email: a.bagirov@federation.edu.au
Evolutionary optimisation for protein structure prediction using low resolution protein modelsAssociate Professor Madhusudan Chetty -
email: madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au
Real-time optimisation algorithms for solving clustering problems in very large data sets Associate Professor Adil Baghirov -
email: a.bagirov@federation.edu.au
Reconstructing historical tropical cyclone records for the Pacific Dr Savin Chand - email: s.chand@federation.edu.au
Impact of tropical cyclones on travelling ionosphere disturbances Dr Savin Chand - email: s.chand@federation.edu.au
On the seasonal predictability of tropical cyclones-Role of climate changeDr Savin Chand - email: s.chand@federation.edu.au
Subseasonal-to-seasonal prediction of Australian tropical cyclones Dr Savin Chand - email: s.chand@federation.edu.au
Meeting QoS Requirements in IoT ApplicationsProfessor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Determine the phreatic surface using soil water content on slope measured by Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) based imaging sensorDr Greg You - email: g.you@federation.edu.au
Competition-based many-to-many academic collaborator recommendationAssociate Professor Fen Xia - email: f.xia@federation.edu.au
Water quality monitoring through the Internet of ThingsDr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
Data dependent similarity-based machine learning approach to criminal intelligence problemsDr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
The Detection of File-Less MalwareDr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Identifying Fake News and Postings in Online Social MediaProfessor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Robust reconstruction of gene regulatory networksAssociate Professor Madhusudan Chetty -
email: madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au
Variational Analysis of Regularity/Transversality Properties with Applications to OptimisationAssociate Professor Alex Kruger -
email: a.kruger@federation.edu.au
Fraud detection based on graph learning in social networksAssociate Professor Fen Xia - email: f.xia@federation.edu.au
Human - Artificial Intelligence (AI) interaction techniques for decision making using big data analytics.Dr Gayan Kahandawa - email: g.appuhamillage@federation.edu.au
Application of Artificial Neural Networks (ANN) in modelling water filtration technologiesDr Harpreet Kandra - email: h.kandra@federation.edu.au
Evaluating trustworthiness of an Internet of Things agentDr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
The role of User Entity Behavior Analytics to detect network attacks in real timeAssociate Professor Madhusudan Chetty -
email: madhu.chetty@federation.edu.au
Emerging technologies in spatiotemporal sequence analysisDr Giles Oatley - email: g.oatley@federation.edu.au
Alerting the Quiet Failure of Yara RulesDr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Knowledge Discovery from Smart City Services: How Smart are Our Cities?Professor Joarder Kamruzzaman -
email: joarder.kamruzzaman@federation.edu.au
Computer modelling of damage in high strength steelDr Ean Ooi - email:e.ooi@federation.edu.au
Computer modelling of damage in porous mediaDr Ean Ooi - email:e.ooi@federation.edu.au
Discrete Fracture Network Modelling for Slope Stability AnalysisProfessor Thomas Baumgartl - email: t.baumgartl@federation.edu.au
Understanding and predicting abnormal behaviors of university studentsAssociate Professor Fen Xia - email: f.xia@federation.edu.au
Development of an advanced diagnostic and data gathering capabilityDr Tanveer Choudhury - email: t.choudhury@federation.edu.au
An effective image processing system for road accident investigation
Associate Professor Shyh Wei Teng - 
email: shyh.wei.teng@federation.edu.au
Trustworthiness measure of an IoT device using quantum computingDr Gour Karmakar - email: gour.karmakar@federation.edu.au
Machine Learning for Detection of Malicious AdvertisingDr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au

Leveraging distributed machine learning for Threat Intelligence in Blockchain networks

Dr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Malware Family Identification from Malspam FeaturesDr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
The Automatic Identification of Malware PackersDr Iqbal Gondal - email: Iqbal.gondal@federation.edu.au
Investigating using virtual reality to teach mining sampling in tertiary educationDr Larissa Koroznikova - email: l.koroznikova@federation.edu.au