School of Science, Engineering and Information Technology

Engineering and water management

Engineering

Project titles Supervisor contact
Modelling Ductile Fracture in Steel with the Scaled Boundary Finite Element MethodDr Ean Ooi  -  email: eooi@uni.federation.edu.au
Post-fire performance of high strength steel in composite structural components Dr Fatemeh Javidan - email: f.javidan@federation.edu.au
Modelling of utility power station boilers to improve efficiency Professor Steve Wilcox - email: s.wilcox@federation.edu.au

Network risk monitoring through IoT-based system for improved capacity and safety in rail operation

Dr Gopi Chattopadhyay - email: g.chattopadhyay@fededration.edu.au
Deep Learning for Condition Monitoring of Burners Professor Steve Wilcox - email: s.wilcox@federation.edu.au
Acoustic Emission Characterisation of Composite Damage Professor Steve Wilcox - email: s.wilcox@federation.edu.au
Optimisation of robot navigation decision making using Artificial Intelligence (AI) techniques.   Dr. Gayan Kahandawa Appuhamillage -
email: g.Appuhamillage@federation.edu.au
Optimisation of Composite Floor for Truck Trailers Dr. Gayan Kahandawa Appuhamillage -
email: g.Appuhamillage@federation.edu.au
Effect of cable bolt on the stope stability and economy of narrow vein gold mine Dr Greg You - email: g.you@federation.edu.au
Drone photogrammetry integrated slope stability analysis for rock fall detection and warningDr Greg You - email: g.you@federation.edu.au
Development of an advanced diagnostic and data gathering capability Professor Steve Wilcox - email: s.wilcox@federation.edu.au
Intelligent prediction of desiccation cracks in clay Dr Tanveer Choudhury - email: t.choudhury@federation.edu.au
Monitoring ground movement using fibre optic sensors Dr Gayan Kahandawa Appuhamillage - email: g.appuhamillage@federation.edu.au
A soft wearable robot for knee-rehabilitationDr Ibrahim Sultan - email: i.sultan@federation.edu.au
Fracture properties of fibre reinforced soil Dr Ean Ooi - email: e.ooi@federation.edu.au
Ground improvement using waste fibre Dr Sam Hashemi - email: s.hashemi@federation.edu.au
Study of blast induced ground vibration Dr Manoj Khandelwal - email: m.khandelwal@federation.edu.au
Desiccation cracks in vegetated geo-infrastructuresProfessor Thomas Baumgartl - email: t.baumgartl@federation.edu.au

Water management

Project titles Supervisor contact
Systems thinking to enhance performance of wetlands Dr Harpreet Kandra - email: h.kandra@federation.edu.au
Developing artificial intelligence techniques for streamflow prediction and comparison with other predictive models
Associate Professor Andrew Barton -
email: a.barton@federation.edu.au
Application of deep learning in streamflow prediction Dr Tanveer Choudhury - email: t.choudhury@federation.edu.au
Managing Bendigo’s groundwater - When contaminated mine water finds a new purposeDr Kim Dowling - email: k.dowling@federation.edu.au
Application of Artificial Neural Networks (ANN) in modelling water filtration technologies Dr Harpreet Kandra - email: h.kandra@federation.edu.au