Geotechnical and Hydrogeological Engineering Research Group (GHERG)

School of Engineering, Information Technology and Physical Sciences

Our people


GHERG comprises a cohort of academic staff with extensive expertise in the field of geotechnical, hydrogeological and environmental engineering.

NameEmailLocation Phone +61 3
Professor Thomas Baumgartl
(PhD, University of Bayreuth, Germany)
Director, GHERG
Soil Physics and Soil Mechanics 4W-108 5122 6112
Dr Javad Yaghoubi
(PhD, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
Research Fellow, GHERG
Geotechnical Engineering 4W-122 5122 6052

Ashley Dyson
(PhD candidate Federation University)
Sessional Research Fellow, Numerical Modelling and Analysis for Geomechanics 5122 8915

Adjunct and honorary staff

Our adjunct and honorary staff are external academics who maintain a relationship with GHERG and enrich our work.

NameEmailLocation Phone +61 3
Dr Mauricio Pinheiro
(PhD, University of Calgary, Canada)
Senior Geotechnical Engineer, Stantec (Burnaby, Canada) External  

HDR students

Our current higher degree research students are undertaking an exciting range of projects.

NameEmailLocation Phone +61 3
Mohsen 4W 5122 6021
Mojtaba External  
Cristhiana 6454
Sid External  
Tahereh 4W 5122 6022

Read about the completed projects by our HDR graduates.

Technical and administrative support

Our work is made possible by our technical and administrative support staff.

NameEmailLocation Phone +61 3
Wayne Powrie (Technical Support) 4W112 5122 6594
Jo Hoppner (Administrative Support) 4W123 5122 8324

Visiting scholars and collaborators

Our work is greatly enriched by visiting scholars and those we collaborate with in industry, government and the community:

  • Franziska Bucka (Technical University Munich, Germany) (2019)
  • Tabea Klör (University of Marburg, Germany) (2019)
  • Zhiyong Liu, postgraduate student School of Engineering and IT, UNSW Canberra at ADFA (2019)
  • Aurelien Maurie, undergraduate student ENSEGID, France (2019)
  • Quentin Moreau, undergraduate student ENSEGID, France (2019)
  • Evelin Pihlap (Technical University Munich, Germany) (2019)