Check your eligibility

Checking your eligibility is the first step in the process of applying for a world-class research degree with Federation University Australia.

You must meet the high academic and English language proficiency requirements to apply successfully for entry to one of these degrees.

Academic entry requirements for PhD

There are a number of ways to meet the eligibility requirements for entry into a PhD program at Federation University:

  • Successful completion of an undergraduate degree and subsequent additional honours degree which is graded at first class or second class (upper division) and which includes a thesis or dissertation demonstrating the ability to undertake research at a PhD level; OR
  • Successful completion of a Masters by Research degree that included a dissertation, demonstrating the ability to undertake research at PhD level; OR
  • Current Federation University Australia Masters by Research candidate with sufficient research capability to demonstrate PhD capacity, assessed via a formal Confirmation of Candidature process; OR
  • Honours equivalence, for applicants who have completed a Master by coursework or have appropriate professional experience.

Academic entry requirements for Masters by Research

  • Successful completion of an undergraduate degree and subsequent additional honours degree which is graded as at least second class and which includes a dissertation demonstrating the ability to undertake research at a Masters level; OR
  • Honours equivalence, such as a combination of professional, qualifications and research experience, including Masters by coursework

English language proficiency requirements (for overseas applicants)

FedUni accepts a variety of English language tests as proof of English proficiency. English proficiency assessment should be made using an external English test (Academic IELTS or equivalent), with the results determining whether the student can enter into our programs directly or via an appropriate English program.

From 1 July 2016, direct entry without an external English test will be only permitted when student meets the English exemption requirements described on the FedUni English Language requirements page as per the Simplified Student Visa Framework’s English requirements.

Applicants from non-English speaking countries must demonstrate English language proficiency (ELP) by achieving at least the minimum score in one of the following formal test of English language proficiency within the last two years:

  • IELTS (International Language Testing System) minimum score of 6.5 with no band less than 6.0;
  • TOEFL (American test of English as a Foreign Language) minimum score of 580 plus a TWE (Test of Written English) a score of 5.0;
  • TOEFL computer-based minimum score of 237 plus a minimum score of 22 in writing;
  • TOEFL internet-based minimum score of 92-93 plus a minimum score of 22 in writing; OR
  • Under exceptional circumstances, applying for an exemption from being required to provide an IELTS or TOEFL score based on an exemption request with supporting evidence

English language proficiency exemption request

IETLS or TOEFL tests are the preferred measure for English Language Proficiency (ELP) and applicants who can demonstrate ELP exemption are still expected to provide IELTS or TOEFL where possible. A request for exemption from the ELP requirements will only be considered under the following circumstances:

  • students who have completed at least five years’ study in one or more of the following countries: Australia, UK, USA, Canada, New Zealand, South Africa, or the Republic of Ireland.
  • citizens and passport holders of one of the following English‑speaking countries: UK, USA, Canada, NZ or Republic of Ireland.

To apply for an exemption from the ELP requirements, the applicant will need to apply for an exemption in writing and provide evidence of their previous study or citizenship in the English-speaking countries listed above.


Sanctions and compliance

Applicants from the following countries should be aware that United Nations Security Council (UNSC) and/or Australian autonomous sanctions may apply to any research you may undertake in Australia.

  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • DPRK (North Korea)
  • Zimbabwe
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Somalia
  • Myanmar
  • Libya
  • Liberia
  • Lebanon
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Guinea – Bissan
  • Former Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
  • Fiji, and
  • Eritrea

It is important that you discuss sanctions that may be applicable to your proposed research with us. There may be a delay in your capacity to commence a research degree at Federation University Australia where approval for your research project needs to be sought.

Information about the UNSC and Australian sanctions is available at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.