Information for patrons from other universities and TAFEs

You are welcome to visit the Federation University Library and use our facilities. The specific services available to you are listed below.

Library membership

There are three schemes that allow staff and students from other Australian tertiary institutions to borrow from the Federation University Library free of change. The schemes are:

  • CAVAL Reciprocal Borrowing Program (Victorian institutions)
  • University Libraries of Australia and New Zealand (ULANZ) (Australia and New Zealand institutions)
  • TAFE National Reciprocal Borrowing Scheme (TAFE NRBS)

Please note that membership through these schemes does not allow access to the internet or other electronic resources.

Students enrolled via Open Universities Australia are not eligible for borrowing. To borrow from our collection they will need to take out a community borrower (Infolink) membership.

Visit the Non-FedUni staff and students page for membership registration details.

Borrowing items

Borrowing guidelines for non-Federation University students and staff

  Maximum no.
of items
Number of
CAVAL, ULANZ, and TAFE NRBS borrowers 10 14 days
(2 weeks)
Monash medical students (Gippsland-based) 50 42 days
(6 weeks)

Provided no hold(s) have been placed on the item(s), and you have no long overdue items, the items you have borrowed will be automatically renewed. You can check the status of your loans anytime via your My Library login.

If you need assistance, get in touch with our InfoPoint team:

Borrowers please note:

  • Items in the Textbook collection can only be borrowed by Federation University students and staff.
  • Copyright regulations restrict non-Federation University borrowers from borrowing off-air video and audio recordings from within the Multimedia collection
  • Items held in the Blainey, Creedy, Journal, Law, Reference and Research collections are not available for loan
  • Recreation reading items can be borrowed for a 14 day/2 week loan period.

Finding resources

You can access a range of physical resources held at our Campus libraries.  Use QuickSearch to search for physical resources, open access journal articles and  research of interest, or ask our friendly Library staff for help.

Photocopying and printing

Photocopying and printing services are available at all our campus libraries. Photocopying must be done in accordance with copyright regulations.

eduroam (wireless access)

Federation University's wireless network is called eduroam. It is a secure world wide wireless network which allows users to access the internet at participating institutions. We are one of over 20 Australian universities that currently provide this service on campus.

How to configure eduroam for your operating system

Visit the ServiceDesk Portal or the eduroam website for further support.


Mt Helen

E J Barker Library (Building L)
University Drive
Mt Helen VIC 3350


Building 1E
Northways Road
Churchill VIC 3842


Library, Building 901
Clyde Road
Berwick VIC 3806


E J T Tippett Building (Library)
Lydiard Street South
Ballarat VIC 3350


Learning Resource Centre (Building C)
Baillie Street
Horsham VIC 3402

Library queries for the Camp Street Campus should be directed to SMB Campus library.

Visit the Contact us page for further information.

Further information

Ask the Library or visit the New students' guide to the library page for further information and assistance.