

Student Senate Minutes

Subject	Student Senate Meeting 4, 2025 (SS4)
То	All Student Senate representatives, officers, observers, and guests
Apologies	Prapti Bista
Date and time	6.00 pm, Tuesday 10 June 2025
Venue	Microsoft Teams
From	Thomas Burningham-Glover
Contact	student.senate@federation.edu.au

A member of the Senate who has a pecuniary (relating to money) or other conflict of interest in a matter being considered by the Senate must, as soon as practicable after the relevant facts have come to his or her knowledge, declare the nature of the interest, in writing, to the Chair of the Senate prior to the meeting.

Acknowledgement of Country and Welcome - 6.00 pm

Chair / Deputy Chair

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters wherever we are located. We pay our respects to Elders past and present and extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations Peoples.

2. Ratification of prior minutes/ Actions (SS3) - 6.05 pm

Chair

Motion: That the Senate ratify the minutes of the meeting held 13 May 2025, as an accurate record.

The Senate reviewed the prior minutes and voted to ratify them.

3. Guest Speakers – 6.10 pm

Deputy Chair

- Helen Ryan, Director, Co-operative Placements Co-op Placements Update
- Lucinda Bilney, Senior Manager, Student Wellbeing & Naomi Floyd, Manager, Counselling and Wellbeing Support – Student Wellbeing and Mental Health Plan

The Senate thanks Helen Ryan and Lucinda Bilney for their presentations.

4. Senate Advisor Update - 6.50 pm

Leon/Cindy



5. Updates/ Actions from last Meeting - 6.55 pm

Chair / Deputy Chair

University Response:

SS3 P1: Support Extension of Library Hours

"The Senate is satisfied with university response."

 SS3 P2: Review of timing that is associated with special consideration to alleviate pressures on students, academics

"The Senate is satisfied with university response."

SS3 P3: Semesterly Student Well-being and Engagement Activity

"Response not yet received, response will be reviewed next meeting"

6. New Items

• SS4 P1: A review of internet bandwidth speeds on Mt. Helen res campus

- 7.00 pm

Jase

Motion: 'That the Senate recommend a review of internet bandwidth speeds on Mt. Helen res campus'.

• SS4 P2: Academics teaching subjects they did not write the criteria for / rubrics requiring updating or not clear by academics admission - 7.05 pm Jase

Motion: 'That the Senate recommend a review of academics teaching subjects they did not write the criteria for / rubrics requiring updating or not clear by academics admission'.

 SS4 P3: Review of B. Performing Arts students (Camp St campus) having to spend money for professional photography with no alternatives - 7.15 pm

Motion: 'That the Senate recommend a review of B. Performing Arts students having to spend money for professional photography with no alternatives'.

SS4 P4: Review of timely return / communication about delay in results
be returned to students via moodle
- 7.20 pm

Motion: 'That the Senate recommend a review of timely return / communication about delay in results be returned to students via moodle'.

SS4 P5: Standardisation of Assignment Due Times to End of Day (11:59 PM)

- 7.25 pm

Monzurul

Motion: 'That the Senate recommend standardisation of Assignment Due Times to End of Day (11:59 PM)'.



7. Other Business 7.30 pm

- Forums
- Any other business

8. Next Meeting: Tuesday 8 July 2025, 6 pm - 8.30 pm

Appendix I: Senate membership as of 26 May 2025:

Elected Members		
Position Name and Number of Position	Representative	
Ballarat and surrounds area (2 positions)	Vaibhav Jacob Ross	
Berwick area (1 position)	Kevin Alexander	
Distance education/off campus (1 position)	Jase Squires	
Equity, diversity and social inclusion advocate (1 position)	Janvi Abrol	
Federation TAFE (1 position)	Vacant	
First Nations (1 position)	Samuel Crane	
Gippsland area (1 position)	Vacant	
International (1 position)	Monzurul Hasan	
Metro Area Student Representative (1 position):	Vacant	
Postgraduate (1 position)	Rabel Ahmed	
Institute of Health and Wellbeing (2 positions)	Anna-Selina Young Vacant	
Institute of Education, Arts and the Community (2 positions)	Yakun Pei Vacant	
Institute of Innovation, Science and Sustainability (2 positions)	Prapti Bista Zachary Tan	
Ex-Officio Members		
Learning and Teaching Quality Committee HE Student Representative	Karuna Pandey	

