Recipients of the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Contributions to Student Learning at Federation University



Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Contributions to Student Learning

Citations for outstanding contributions to student learning 2014 Citation Award Recipients

Federation University Australia has announced that eight Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning have been awarded to Federation University staff. Citations recognise and reward the diverse contribution that individuals and teams make to the quality of student learning. Citations are awarded to staff who have made significant contributions to student learning, student engagement and/or the overall student experience in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

The University congratulates its 2014 Citation Award recipients:



Dr Michael DysonFaculty of Education – School of Education and Arts

For inspiring and capturing active student engagement through an informed and passionate approach to learning and teaching that combines theory and the reality of practice.



Ms Julianne Krusche Federation College

For outstanding leadership and contribution to successful and sustainable customised program development, implementation and management of contextualised foundation skills that underpin vocational learning and competencies.



Ms Eliza LaneFederation College – Federation Youth

For outstanding leadership and capacity to spearhead improvement, innovation and change that influences, motivates and inspires Youth students at Federation College.



Mr Andrew Smith
Faculty of Health – School of
Nursing, Midwifery and Healthcare

For creating a socially just learning culture, particularly for transitioning students through respectful, equitable and supportive engagement promoting the learning environment as an empowering space.



Dr Lara WakelingFaculty of Science and Technology
– School of Applied and Biomedical Sciences

For the development and implementation of innovative curricula and resources designed to prepare future food science professionals to work safely and competently in laboratory settings.



Dr Andrew WestFederation Business School

For using technologies that enhance the learning experience and provide improved learning support for varied cohorts of students in their management accounting courses.

CRICOS Provider No. 00103D VC Award recipients 2014 Page 1 of 2





Ms Sara Weuffen
Faculty of Education – School of
Education and Arts

For reconceptualising Indigenous curriculum through collaborations with Ballarat Indigenous communities: Drawing on research-informed content to empower preservice teachers in creating authentic, engaging models for cultural reconciliation.



'Early Career' Recipient Ms Anita RaymondFaculty of Health – School of Nursing, Midwifery and Healthcare

For reconceptualising student engagement and learning by introducing innovative approaches to nursing education in higher education that actively utilises learning spaces beyond the traditional classroom.

2014 Teaching Excellence Recipient

The Teaching Excellence Award celebrates outstanding teachers at Federation University Australia. The Teaching Excellence Award gives recognition to teachers (individuals and teams) renowned for the excellence of their teaching, who have outstanding presentation skills and who have made a broad and deep contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching at the University.

The University congratulates its 2014 Teaching Excellence recipient:



Dr Elisa BackerFederation Business School

In recognition of developing a national profile for outstanding tourism education by combining extensive industry experience and networks, and the design and implementation of innovative courses.

CRICOS Provider No. 00103D VC Award recipients 2014 Page 2 of 2