Awards for Teaching Excellence

Awards for Teaching Excellence recognise individual and team teaching achievements, particularly the breadth and depth of contributions to enhancing teaching and learning quality in higher education. 


Nominations must relate to teaching activities in higher education. FedUni may only nominate one person per category of Teaching Excellence Award. Previously unsuccessful applicants may re-apply.
With the exception of Early Career category winners, who may re-apply in a different category five years after receiving an Early Career Award, previous winners are ineligible to re-apply. Citation recipients may apply for Teaching Excellence Awards, but Teaching Excellence Award winners are ineligible to apply for Citations awards. 

Application requirements

The eight Teaching Award categories are:

  1. Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies (including Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Medicine, Nursing etc.)
  2. Early Career (open to staff with no more than seven consecutive years' experience, including tutoring and part-time teaching),
  3. Humanities and the Arts
  4. Law, Economics, Business and related studies
  5. Neville Bonner Award/s for Indigenous Education
  6. Physical Sciences and related studies (including Architecture, Building and Planning, Engineering, Computing and Information Science
  7. Social Sciences (including Education)
  8. The Annual Priority Area is Teaching a diverse student body.

Applications must address five selection criteria (all given equal weight) in an eight-page statement accompanied by Supporting Teaching Materials in any two of the following formats: ten printed pages of supporting materials, a CD/DVD or showcase website, along with a three-page curriculum vitae and two references of a maximum one page each. A representative but random sample of a nominee's students is surveyed using a specially developed instrument. This process is independently administered under the supervision of the Institutional Contact Officer.

Nominees must also supply a high quality photo to OLT specifications set out in Award guidelines. The Coordinator Teaching and Learning Initiatives will arrange this.

Timeline and application forms

  • Nomination instructions: 2016 Australian Awards for University Teaching Program Information and Nomination Instructions  (PDF, 331kb) | (DOC, 200kb)
  • Nomination Forms: 2016 Awards for Teaching Excellence Nomination form (DOC, 132kb)
  • Nomination Timeline: 2016 Awards for Teaching Excellence Timeline (PDF, 261kb)

The selection criteria are:

  1. Approaches to teaching that influence, motivate and inspire students to learn.
  2. Development of curricula and resources that reflect a command of the field.
  3. Approaches to assessment and feedback that foster independent learning.
  4. Respect and support for the development of students as individual.
  5. Scholarly activities that have influenced and enhanced learning and teaching.

All five criteria are given equal consideration.

Nominations will be assessed against the selection criteria and on:

  1. the extent to which the claims for excellence are supported by formal and informal evaluation
  2. the extent of creativity, imagination or innovation, irrespective of whether the approach involves traditional learning environments or technology-based developments
  3. information contained in student feedback questionnaires, references and selected teaching materials submitted by the nominee.