Course settings

There are many options under the Edit Settings link that you can change. Many of these are unimportant to most users. There are however a couple of settings that affect access and how your course is structured.

To edit course settings

  1. From the Administration block, click Edit settings. The Edit course settings window appears.

    Note: only some important settings are covered in this procedure. For more information on other settings click the '?' icon or read the documentation at moodle.org

    block admin settings

  2. Hide and show

    Note: The Course name and ID fields are automatically filled by the automation process, these fields cannot be edited.

  3. Visible
    Changing the visibility of a course will affect whether students can or cannot access the course. With the setting "Show" set, students can see and log in to a course, provided they are permitted by enrollment and the course start date. If the teacher changes the status to "Hide" then access will be denied and the course will not be visible to students. New courses are set to Hide by default

    Course start date
    The Weekly format (covered below) uses the start date to number the weeks. Setting the date allows Moodle to determine when the course starts. Students may not enter a course until the start date has passed, so you may need to reconfigure this should you wish students to prepare for class before the official start date.

  4. Course format

    Format
    The format changes how the course is displayed. Choose from the following options:

    • Topics - The default setting in which all sections are labelled as Topic 1 etc.
    • Weekly format - Sections a labelled with the date, eg. March 3 - March 10
    • SCORM - For self contained training packages
    • Social - A single community forum, no other activity options

    Number of sections
    The default number of sections is 16, however you may reconfigure this to suit your delivery by increasing or reducing the number of topics. Setting a range lower than the number of currently used sections will create hidden (or orphaned) items.

    Hidden Sections
    When sections are hidden, this setting controls whether the topic name is displayed, alerting the students that more is to follow, or whether the topic is completely hidden.

    Course Layout
    When One section per page is chosen (the default) it initially shows an index of the topics, which students must then click to reveal the entire topic. A next and previous navigation system is added to the bottom of the main topic so that students can navigate the single pages. Selecting Show all sections on one page will force all sections to appear one after another in one long page.

  5. File Size

    Maximum upload size determines the largest possible size that Moodle will accept. Moodle cannot accept files above 100MB. In these cases, you should seek an alternative storage option for the file such as Equella.

    Note: It is unlikely that an upload above 15MB in size will succeed outside of the University network due to low transfer speeds. Most domestic Internet connections struggle to achieve 0.5Mb/s upload, resulting in failed uploads when the server times out. Uploading within the network or using a connection with NBN level speeds will alleviate this issue.

  6. Completion Tracking

    Completion tracking allows Moodle to generate reports on whether a student has completed certain tasks. This setting must be first enabled (default), then each trackable item must be configured within the course. Reports are then available from within the course Administration block. Completion tracking is also required for some Progress Bar items.

  7. Groups

    Groups can assist with handling large cohorts, or creating sub groups within a cohort. Groups can then be used to create shared assignments, control access to activities and content. There are three settings:

    • No Groups - Open access to all

    • Visible Groups - groups can view each others content, but cannot edit or respond

    • Separate Groups - groups are completely invisible to each other. The course will appear as if a group's participants are the only participants.

    Note: By default all combined Moodle shells should have group mode set to Visible groups.

  8. Save Changes

    Remember to click the Save changes button in order to apply all the configuration changes you have made.