Australian Centre for Research into Injury in Sport and its Prevention (ACRISP)



ACRISP is founded on the principle that close collaboration with a variety of research partners is the key to achieving its goals.


ACRISP is one of only nine research teams worldwide to be recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as an IOC Research Centre for the Prevention of Injury and Promotion of Health in Athletes.

Government and industry

The ACRISP FedUni Research Program has received funding from, and conducts its research in partnership with, the:

  • Australian Institute of Sport
  • Australian Football League
  • Australian Research Council (ARC)
  • Australian Rugby Union
  • Cricket Australia
  • JLT Sport
  • National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
  • NSW Department of Sport and Recreation
  • NSW Sporting Injuries Committee (NSWSIC)
  • Sports Medicine Australia
  • VicSport
  • Victorian Department of Planning and Community Development, Sport and Recreation Victoria (SRV) Division
  • Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth)


The ACRISP FedUni Research Team has major collaborations with researchers based at other Australian research institutions:

  • Monash Injury Research Institute, Monash University, VIC
  • Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, VIC
  • Centre for Musculoskeletal Research, Griffith Health Institute, Griffith University, QLD
  • Centre for Human Factors and Sociotechnical Systems, University of the Sunshine Coast, QLD
  • La Trobe Sport and Exercise Medicine Research Centre, La Trobe University, VIC

ACRISP Advisory Board

The ACRISP Advisory Board was formed in 2015 to assist and guide ACRISP in establishing and developing strategic plans for its long term viability.

  • Chair - Professor Peter Fricker OAM, Chair Medical Commission AOC, Chief Medical Officer Swimming Australia Ltd, Member Anti-doping Rule Violation Panel of ASADA
  • Ms Lois Fordham, Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • Dr David Hughes, Australian Institute of Sport
  • Dr Carolyn Broderick, The Children's Hospital at Westmead, University of New South Wales
  • Dr Allan Hahn OAM, Formerly Australian Institute of Sport
  • Professor Leigh Sullivan, Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research and Innovation, Federation University Australia
  • Mr Andrew Plympton, Australian Olympic Committee Executive Member
  • Mr Ian Hanson, Hanson Media Group