Federation College

English and academic preparation (EAP) - International

International student photoAbout EAP - International

This program is an accredited non-award pathway program. It is for non-English speaking background international students who intend undertaking undergraduate or postgraduate studies at Federation University Australia.

EAP aims to enhance and develop students' English language skills. The Program will help them  successfully complete academic study in English-speaking learning environments.

The program is suitable for students who do not meet the minimum English language entry requirements such as International English Language Testing System (IELTS), or other FedUni-approved equivalents.

The specific EAP program will be determined by a student's IELTS score. The length of programs varies from 5 weeks to 20 weeks.

EAP Program Dates for 2017

NOTE: In 2017 Federation University will only be offering EAP Intermediate and EAP Advanced streams.

The EAP Introductory/Vocational stream and the EAP Graduate stream are not available for student enrolment in 2017.

Summer 2016/2017
For entry into Semester 1, 2017
Monday 21 November 2016 to Friday 3 February 2017
ProgramCommencementCompletion Term enrolled
EAP 10 Week (XT2) Mon 21/11/2016 Fri 3/02/2017 Term 1627 - Summer
EAP 5 Week (XT1) Tues 3/01/2017 Fri 3/02/2017 Term 1702 - Late Summer
ProgramCommencementCompletion Term enrolled
EAP 20 Week (XT4) Mon 13/02/2017 Fri 7/07/2017 Term 1705 - Sem 1
EAP 15 Week (XT3) Mon 20/03/2017 Fri 7/07/2017 Term 1705 - Sem 1
Semester Break: Friday 14 April (Good Friday) to Friday 21 April
EAP 10 Week (XT2) Mon 1/05/2017 Fri 7/07/2017 Term 1715 - Winter
EAP 5 Week (XT1) Mon 5/06/2017 Fri 7/07/2017 Term 1715 - Winter

The EAP Introductory/Vocational stream .

Semester 2, 2017
For entry into Semester 1, 2018
Monday 4 September 2017 to Friday 2 February 2018
ProgramCommencementCompletion Term enrolled
EAP 20 Week (XT4) Mon 4/09/2017 Fri 2/02/2018 Term 1725 - Spring
EAP 15 Week (XT3) Mon 16/10/2017 Fri 2/02/2018 Term 1727 - Summer
First Semester Break: Monday 9 October to Friday 13 October
Second Semester Break: Monday 25 December to Monday 1 January (inclusive)
EAP 10 Week (XT2) Mon 20/11/2017 Fri 2/02/2018 Term 1727 - Summer
EAP 5 Week (XT1) Tue 2/01/2018 Fri 2/02/2018 Term 1802 - Late Summer

English Entry Level Requirements

EAP Intermediate

For Higher Ed Programs requiring an entry of IELTS 6.0 with no band less than 6.0 (or equivalent)
20 Week IELTS 5.0 (no band less than 5.0)
15 Week IELTS 5.5 (no band less than 5.0)
10 Week IELTS 5.5 (no band less than 5.5) OR IELTS 6.0 (no band less than 5.0)
5 Week IELTS 6.0 (no band less than 5.5)

EAP Advanced

For Higher Ed Programs requiring an entry of IELTS 6.5 with no band less than 6.0 (or equivalent)
20 Week IELTS 5.5 (no band less than 5.5) OR IELTS 6.0 (no band less than 5.0)
15 Week IELTS 6.0 (no band less than 5.5)
10 Week IELTS 6.0 (no band less than 6.0)
5 Week IELTS 6.5 (no band less than 6.0)
EAP Program length and multiple enrolments

IMPORTANT: Due to the current CRICOS registration allowing Federation University to deliver a maximum of 20 weeks for ELICOS programs, International Students will NOT be able to apply to change from one EAP stream to another once they have arrived in Australia. For example, a student who originally enrols in EAP Intermediate will not be able to change to EAP Advanced if they decide they wish to enter a Higher Ed program that requires a higher IELTS entry level. It is therefore very important that students choose the correct EAP stream for their destination program before they are issued with a Confirmation of Enrolment.

How to apply

International students currently studying VCE in Victoria (Australia) are required to apply through VTAC. International students applying for undergraduate and postgraduate coursework degrees must apply through the University's International office. If you are applying for Higher Degrees by Research please do so through Research Services.

For application inquiries, please contact our International Admissions team on +61 3 5327 6661 (10am to 1pm, AEST). You can also email them at internationaladmissions@federation.edu.au.

Further information

Contact our International Student Programs office on +61 3 5327 9018 or email international@federation.edu.au.