Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing Conference

Massey University, 24-25 November 2014

The Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing Conference (CTC-2014), a workshop designed to link industry, government and academia to help solve problems in the cybercrime space. This workshop was run to great success in 2013, and we are hoping to see everyone in 2014's event.

Following on from the successful workshop in Sydney in 2013, CTC-2014 will be held from 24th and 25th November 2014, and will be hosted by Massey University's Auckland (Albany) Campus in New Zealand, in the Atrium round room.

Academic paper acceptances have been released, congratulations to the authors!

Organising committee

Prof Paul A. Watters (Massey University), Prof Josef Pieprzyk (Queensland University of Technology) Dr Stephen McCombie (RSA), Dr Robert Layton (Federation University Australia), Mr Simon Brown (Westpac).


Cybercrime continues to be a growth industry, assisted by a combination of technical factors, such as non-secure hardware and software platforms, and psychological factors, such as user error or naivety. The objective of this workshop is to bring together two distinct groups to encourage further collaboration - those who are working on researching cybercrime activity, such as phishing and malware, and those who are working on technical countermeasures.

The scope of the workshop is very narrow, to ensure a complementary match between capability and need. Papers should either be empirically or rationally based explorations of problems in cybercrime, or propose solutions and/or countermeasures to the most pressing cybercrimes.

The conference will be composed of two days. The first is an academic conference with peer reviewed, published proceedings and presentations. The second day is a collection of industry focused presentations focusing on real life problems and solutions to cybercrime without the requirement of publication.

Example topic areas on the cybercrime theme might include

  •  New techniques for identifying phishing, malware and botnet attacks
  •  New approaches for attributing attacks to specific individuals or groups
  •  Analysis of scams, including advance fee fraud, romance scams etc
  •  Identity theft including recovery processes
  • Modelling of the cost of cybercrime to the Australian economy
  • Novel forensic techniques to identify crimeware

For the countermeasures side, topic areas might include:

  • Anti-phishing
  • Anti-virus
  • Anti-rootkit
  • Anti-botnet
  • User education and/or psychological operations

A major theme of the event will be to plan future research interactions and relationships between industry and academia.

Submission categories

*Refereed papers* All submissions are to be made using the Easychair system. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present their work at the conference, otherwise the paper will not be included in the proceedings. Presentations will be 30 minutes in length (20 minutes talk, 10 minutes for questions). The workshop proceedings will be published as an academic proceedings. Papers should be written using the CPS style, with up to 12 pages. All papers should be submitted for double-blind review, ie, no contact or author details should appear on the submitted paper.

*Industry demonstrations* Participants are invited to give practical demonstrations on cutting-edge technologies, or illustrations of difficult problems that currently do not have good solutions. Please e-mail the organisers if you wish to give a demonstration - we strongly encourage industry participants to do this.


  • Call for papers released, 30 June 2014
  • Paper submission deadline: 15 September Extended to 29th September!
  • Paper status notification: 13 October 2014
  • Final papers due in PDF format: 15 December 2014

Please note that the proceedings will be published after the event, allowing presenters to update their papers based on comments at the conference.

ATIS 2014

This conference will be held just one week after the International Conference on Applications and Techniques in Information Security, held in Melbourne on the 26th to the 28th:

International visitors may wish to plan to visit both conferences, as they both contain a great scope in cybercrime and information security, with strong views to applications in the field.

Paper submission

Submissions can be made via EasyChair at:

Program committee members academic

  • Prof Jemal Abawajy, Deakin University
  • Dr Mamoun Alazab, Australian National University
  • Mr Milton Baar, Macquarie University
  • Prof Lynn Batten, Deakin University
  • Dr Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of South Australia
  • Dr Richard Dazeley, Federation University Australia
  • Prof Colin Fidge, Queensland University of Technology
  • Dr Gaurav Gupta, Macquarie University
  • Dr Julian Jang, CSIRO
  • Dr Mohan Kankanhalli, National University of Singapore
  • Dr Robert Layton, Federation University Australia
  • Prof Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Dr Alex Ng, Federation University Australia
  • A/Prof Nigel Phair, University of Canberra
  • Prof Josef Pieprzyk, Queensland University of Technology
  • Dr Man Qi, Canterbury Christchurch University
  • Dr Matthew Sorell, University of Adelaide
  • Prof Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong
  • Dr Fergus Toolan, University College Dublin
  • Dr Peter Vamplew, Federation University Australia
  • Prof Vijay Varadharajan, Macquarie University
  • Prof Wei Wang, Nanjing Normal University
  • Prof Paul Watters, Massey University
  • Dr George Weir, University of Strathclyde
  • Prof Liu Wu, Tsinghua University
  • Dr John Zic, CSIRO
  • Dr Ryan Ko, University of Waikato
  • Dr Jairo Gutierrez, Auckland University of Technology
  • Dr Clark Thomborson, University of Auckland
  • Dr Ian Welch, Victoria University of Wellington


  • Mr Simon Brown, Westpac Banking Corporation
  • Mr Peter Cassidy, Anti-Phishing Working Group (APWG)
  • Mr Aaron Herps, Australian Screen Association
  • Mr Stephen McCombie, RSA
  • Mr Theo Nassiokas, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group
  • Mr Sean Park, FireEye
  • Mr Cameron Woolfe, IBM
  • Mr Dan Xu, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group
  • Mr Josh Bailey, Google
  • Mr Barry Brailey, .nz Domain Name Commission
  • Mr Graeme Neilson, Aura InfoSec

Law enforcement

  • Mr Jarrad Lisman, Australian Federal Police
  • Mr Robert Hanson, Australian Crime Commission
  • Mr Alex Tilley, Australian Federal Police
  • Peter Pilley, Department of Internal Affairs, NZ