Lucato Peace Prize

The Arts Academy and Federation University Australia would like to extend its condolences to the Lucato family on the recent passing of Mr George Lucato.

NB: The Lucato Peace Prize will not be presented in 2015. Please contact the Post Office Gallery on 5327 8615 or email Curator, Shelley Hinton,, if you require further information.

Peace is always better than war

Established in 2004, generously supported by Mr George Lucato, the Lucato Peace Prize is an annual acquisitive art award open to all enrolled Federation University Australia tertiary students and all senior secondary students enrolled at any City of Ballarat secondary school or college.

Prizes are awarded to the applicants whose work best illustrates or expresses 'peaceful alternatives are always preferable to armed confrontations'.

The Lucato Peace Prizes are:

1st prize (Tertiary education prize) - $2,250.00
2nd prize (Senior secondary school prize) - $750.00

Winners of the Lucato Peace Prize are:

2014 Cassandra McArthur
2013 Lara Russell
2012 Frances Deutsher
2011 Phil Berry
2010 Phil Berry
2009 Phil Berry
2008 Michelle Nelson
2007 Robert Kelty
2006 Emily Duggan
2005 Andrew Broughton
2004 Kerrin Whiting

View selection and application details.